One of the many reasons people prefer to use Apple’s iOS devices instead of Android ones or WP7 is their clouding service, called iCloud. And no doubt, it has some strong advantages to offer.But, like any other thing in this world it is not perfect. One of its imperfections lays right in the Photo Stream feature.
Let’s imagine a common scenario: you take a picture with your iPhone and it will be automatically uploaded in the iCloud service, if Photo Stream is activated on your device. It is nothing wrong with this. The problem appears when the iCloud Photo Stream service is also activated on other devices (like iPod Touch, iPad etc), because that particular photo you have just uploaded will be shared with those other devices, too. And things could become very annoying, if, let’s say, that photo wasn’t supposed to be seen by everybody. If this happens, the only thing you could do is to delete the entire pictures album, so you could get rid of that specific photo…which is not nice, either.
Luckily, the Apple developers have realized that this is a problem for iDevices users, and the beta 2 version of iOS 5.1 should solve all these annoying issues. Also, this feature will be available in all the next iOS versions which will be released in the future, too.
So, where is that wonder? When opening your iCloud service, you will have to access the Photo Stream feature. Here, you will see the its regular menu, which will also include the possibility to erase an entire albums of pictures. The difference comes when accessing a specific photo. While the picture is displayed, you will see that somewhere in the upper right corner you will be provided with the “delete photo” option.
The great part comes from the fact that photo will remain saved in the internal memory of the device which created it. And, obviously, it will disappear from the iCloud and also, from all other picture galleries inside the devices which are connected to your clouding service.
Now Apple’s iCloud will really look as a perfect service.