Deleting a file in MacOS X Lion is pretty much similar to the way that you delete a file on Windows. You right click on a file, and when you select the delete file option it will send it to the trash bin. You might think that empting the trash bin will permanently remove a file from your MacOS X Lion but that is not really true.
If you empty the trash bin, the file that you’ve just deleted will not actually be removed from your system. To permanently remove a file from your computer, the corresponding sectors on your hard drive must be completely overwritten with new data (files). This does not mean that you have to copy a new file on your hard drive each time that you want to delete one that has no use anymore. With the help of a feature called ‘secure’ already built-in to your MacOS X Lion you will be able to permanently delete a file from your computer.Here is how you can enable the ‘secure’ option in MacOS X Lion to permanently remove a file from your computer. You will have to go to your desktop and then click and hold the Trash bin. The ‘Empty Trash’ option will appear on the screen and you will have to press the command button to enable the secure mode when emptying the trash bin. Once you enable the secure mode to permanently delete files on MacOS X Lion you will no longer have to worry that someone might be able to recover your data.
Like we already said, deleting a file in MacOS X is pretty much similar to the way that you would do it in a Windows PC, with the exception that Windows does not come with the ‘secure’ mode built-in. In that case, you have to install a 3rd party software that is able to permanently delete a file.